History of the estate
The “Gagnoni” estate has grown from a “Casa Padronale” and three farms. Together they form a “Piccolo Borgo” or a small village. The Casa Padronale dates from 1760. It is a typical Leopoldian country house built in local stone. Work began on renovating the 18th century farmhouses and their barns in early 2005. The buildings were meticulously renovated under the strict supervision of the “Commune Sinalunga” technical service and in cooperation with a local architect Fabiano Di Banella, experienced in the art of restoration. These farmhouses and their annexes were expertly converted into 10 housing units. Great care was taken to use authentic architectural elements and materials. Old recycled building materials have been integrated as much as possible in the restoration of the houses, including roof tiles, bricks and natural stone. High-quality materials were used for the interior, such as the hand-worked cotto floors laid throughout the houses. All the windows and doors were reproduced using traditional methods in the typical Tuscan colours of grey and green. The interior furnishings are a combination of local antique cupboards and tables and modern seating accommodation. The sense of security that characterises the borgo is perceptible everywhere with natural stone walls, brick-built arches and vaults, outside staircases in travertine, little chapels, authentic pizza oven with wood, pergolas overgrown with plants, fascinating chimneys on the roofs, etc. Every effort has been made to create as much privacy as possible for each unit, by planning private gardens and individual terraces with pergolas.